skip to main content


List of all books written by Cathrine Cookson, and her biographies

Catherine's Books

Catherine Cookson was one of the most popular and beloved writers of her time. She wrote over 100 novels and had a fan base that spanned the globe. Her writing style was both powerful and captivating, and her stories often explored the complexities of working-class life in Northern England.

Written as Catherine Cookson

The Round Tower

The Nice Bloke aka The Husband

The Glass Virgin

The Invitation

The Dwelling Place

Feathers in the Fire

Pure as the Lily

The Invisible Cord

The Gambling Man

The Tide of Life

The Girl

The Cinder Path

The Man Who Cried

The Whip aka The Spaniard’s Gift

The Black Velvet Gown

The Bannaman Legacy aka A Dinner of Herbs

The Moth aka The Thorman Inheritance

The Parson's Daughter

The Harrogate Secret aka The Secret

The Cultured Handmaiden

The Spaniard’s Gift aka The Whip

The Black Candle

The Thorman Inheritance aka The Moth

The Gillyvors aka The Love Child

My Beloved Son

The Rag Nymph aka The Forester Girl

The House of Women

The Maltese Angel

The Golden Straw

The Forester Girl aka The Rag Nymph

The Year of the Virgins

The Tinker's Girl

Justice Is a Woman

A Ruthless Need

The Bonny Dawn

The Branded Man

The Lady on my Left by Catherine Marchant

The Mists of Memory by Catherine Marchant

The Obsession

The Upstart

The Blind Years


Solace of Sin

The Desert Crop

The Thursday Friend

My Land of the North

A House Divided

Rosie of the River

The Simple Soul and Other Stories

Silent Lady

The Kate Hannigan series

The Mary Ann stories

The Lord and Mary Ann

The Devil and Mary Ann

Love and Mary Ann

Life and Mary Ann

Marriage and Mary Ann

Mary Ann's Angels

Mary Ann and Bill

The Mallen Novels

The Mallen Girl

The Mallen Litter

The Tilly Trotter trilogy

Tilly Trotter Wed aka Tilly Wed

Tilly Trotter Widowed aka Tilly Alone

The Hamilton series

Goodbye Hamilton


The Bill Bailey trilogy

Bill Bailey's Lot aka Bill Bailey’s Litter

Bill Bailey's Daughter

The Bondage of Love

Children's stories

The Nipper

Blue Baccy aka Rory’s Fortune

Our John Willie

Mrs Flannagan's Trumpet

Go Tell It to Mrs Golightly

Lanky Jones

Nancy Nutall and the Mongrel

Rory's Fortune aka Blue Baccy

Bill and The Mary Ann Shaughnessy


Catherine Cookson Country aka My Land of the North

Let Me Make Myself Plain

Plainer Still

Just A Saying

Written as Catherine Marchant

The Fen Tiger aka The House on the Fens

House of Men

The Mists of Memory aka The Lady on my Left by Catherine Cookson

The Iron Facade aka Evil at Rodgers Cross

Miss Martha Mary Crawford

The Slow Awakening

Written as Katie McMullen


The Girl From Leam Lane: The Life and Writing of Catherine Cookson by Piers Dudgeon

Catherine Cookson by Kathleen Jones Constable

Kate's Daughter: The Real Catherine Cookson by Piers Dudgeon

Seeking Catherine Cookson's Da by Kathleen Jones Constable

Books in film and television

The Black Velvet Gown

The Cinder Path

The Dwelling Place

The Tide of Life

The Gambling Man

The Mallens

Our John Willie

The Black Candle

The Man Who Cried

The Glass Virgin

The Girl

The Moth

The Rag Nymph

The Wingless Bird

Colour Blind

The Round Tower

Tilly Trotter

The Secret

A Dinner of Herbs

The Catherine Cookson Trust

If you're in education and training, environment and conservation, arts and culture, as well as general charitable purposes, your organisation could be eligible for a grant from the Catherine Cookson Charitable Trust. Grants are generally awarded between £100 and £100,000 but occasionally larger sums are donated where there are exceptional circumstances. In particular, we aim to meet the needs of North East England, where Dame Catherine grew up and lived much of her adult life.

Apply Now